Time to make my kitchen more self sustaining.

Container Garden, part 1 of 2.

Ever since leaving Maricopa, I am resentful about not having my herb garden. In Copa-town, I had the most beautiful basil plants ever. It started as two, that grew to be over 2 feet in diameter. Those two seeded and grew about a dozen the next year. Those dozen turned into 30. And by year four, I was thinning, re-potting, and giving away more than 30 plants to friends, just so mine would have ample room to grow. I would literally harvest pounds of basil leaves 2-3 times a year. It was amazing. Then we moved….to a yard that has 2 citrus trees and a lot of 1/2 inch granite.

I couldn’t take it anymore. The other day I needed fresh basil, and I had to pay $2 for a little 3oz package at the store. Despicable. I told Dess we needed make a container garden. One for herbs, because I love cooking with fresh herbs. And one for vegetables. Because beyond fresh veggies in your yard, you also have the option of canning them. I’d love to get to the point where I am growing and canning more than 50% of the veggies we eat.

So weekend we began. The Reverend Lovejoy was kind enough to donate some water troughs from his homestead to my cause.

The larger one is about 6 1/2′ t in diameter, and the smaller is 3′. Once I got home, I realized the logistics of filling the larger one with dirt (Pi)(r2)(height) was more than I wanted to do this weekend. I chose to start with the smaller one.

We went to the Depot, and bought some potting soil, mulch, a couple flats of herbs and veg starters, and some seeds.

The troughs were higher than I anticipated when I asked for them. Filling them with premium potting soil would have broken the bank. So I started with some fill dirt from a field down the street.

Topped it off with an even mix of top soil and composted mulch. put the little starters in there and watered thoroughly.

Clockwise from the top:
Dill, Cilantro, Rosemary, Basil, Jalapeno Pepper, Taragon, Oregano, and Parsley. Lemon Thyme, and Tabasco Peppers in the middle.

We also got three varieties of tomatoes and put them in pots. Pink Ladies, Rome, and Bonnie Grape.

And now we wait…….

I’m building a second raised planter out of premium white wood shortly. I need to wait for the rain to subside, which doesn’t seem to be happening any time soon.

1 Response to “Time to make my kitchen more self sustaining.”


  1. 1 bluemoxie March 9, 2010 at 9:53 am

    the snow is melting off of my herb patch and my thyme is still alive and green! I guess we didn’t have a very hard winter…but its all getting dug up this summer when Nick builds the addition, so I need to find a new spot for them. The veggies are going straight out back. I’d like to be doing seedlings now, but I don’t have anyone to care for them when I got to the hospital for two weeks, so they will have to wait until after. I hope it doesn’t end up being too late…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other followers


